Your voice for fast, frequent and reliable trains

The High Speed Rail Alliance is bringing the game-changing power of fast, frequent and reliable trains to you by building a broad, diverse base of supporters like you. We believe that we’re near a paradigm shift in transportation policy. With your help, we’ll tip the scales toward high-speed trains.

By putting 80% of Americans and Canadians within 25 miles of the freedom provided trains, we’ll bring friends and families closer together, connect small businesses with new customers and talent, revitalize our towns and communities, and slash our carbon footprint.

Since 1993, we’ve educated people, businesses, and lawmakers about the need for fast, frequent, and reliable trains; and we’ve worked with local governments, federal officials, the railroad industry, and fellow advocacy groups to build the political will and public support for a high-speed rail network that links our communities.

We recently changed our name from the Midwest High Speed Rail Association.  Click here to learn why.

Contact Us

High Speed Rail Alliance
4765 N. Lincoln Ave
Chicago, IL 60625


Media Inquiries

Please call Executive Director Rick Harnish at 773-334-6758.

Foundation Partners

Alphawood Foundation

Darling Family Foundation

North American Railway Foundation

Sally Mead Hands Foundation

Corporate Partners

We thank these corporate partners for their generous sponsorship at $1,000 and above. Contact us to learn about the benefits of corporate sponsorship.

Private Car

Club Class

Business Class

Freedman Seating Company

Green Bay Packers Give Back

Hanson Professional Services, Inc.

Quandel Consultants, LLC

Quebec Delegation Chicago


The support of our individual donors funds our outreach and organizing. Become a member today to make sure the argument for high speed rail is heard loud and clear, from Washington, D.C. to your state capitol.

Club Class

Stan Miller

First Class


Beth Coulson

David Boone

Edie Bryan

Eric Talbot

Glenn Ahrenholz

Jim Dixon

Joe Schwieterman

Lance Erickson

Tod Bassler

William B. Moore

Business Class

Alan Cornue

Allan Hauth Milw. WI

Christian Biesenger

Dave Winters

David May

Gregory P. Tornatore

Jeanie Sherwood

Joyce Solberg

Maurice Ball

Owen & Eleanor Hardy

Rich Robinson

SMART Transportation Division

Steve Weagant

Village of Schaumburg

Tourist Class

Alan Paberzs

Alan Sanchez

Anita Lees





Attorney John D. Finerty

Bill Scott

Brian Chang

Claude A. Lambert

David Nienke

David Schreiner

Dennis Hess

Douglas Yerkes

Edward A.Robinson

Illinois Municipal League

Indiana Passenger Rail Alliance

James Stevenson

Juergen Juffa

Karen Busch

Karen Shinners

Kathleen T. Riley

Larry Robertson

Mark Walbrun

Melanie Manner


Michael G. Johnson

Michigan Association of Railroad Passengers

Nelson Beck

Norel Pride

Peter Ruggiero

Philip Darling

Preston Hamilton

Ralph Medhurst

Richard Trask

Robert Clausen

Robert Gleason

Robert Madison

Robert Woodbury

Roger Clark

Ron Rohde

Sam Harnish & Mary Jo Wenckus

Sharon Feigon

William Weber

William Weiss Jr.

Board of Directors

Executive Director

Richard Harnish


Maurice Ball
Mechanical Engineer
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (Fermilab)


Keith Kalinowski
Attaché Commercial
Quebec Delegation Chicago


Ira Silver

Board Members

Nicholas Carney
Underwriter, Multi-Family
Illinois Housing Authority

Elizabeth Coulson
Illinois General Assembly

Stan Miller, Esq.
Partner - Retired
Nixon & Peabody

William C. Porter
Director of Public Works
City of Wauwatosa, WI

Joseph P. Schwieterman, Ph.D.
Chaddick Institute for Metropolitan Development
DePaul University

Young Professionals Board

Chen-Yu Lin
PhD Candidate
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Imron Bhatti
Office of Fair Housing & Equal Opportunity
U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development

Clayton Hall
Project Engineer

Joshua Hamilton
Central/East Region Chair
Michigan Association of Rail Passengers

Hannah J. Meinen
DePaul University '19 | MPA
Recruitment Specialist | American Red Cross of Greater Chicago and Northern Illinois

Ben Ravenscroft
Global Product Manager
GKN Off-Highway Powertrain

Eddie Wytkind, MBA
Baird Capital

Siyu Zhang
GIS Analyst
GeoHome, LLC