Chicago Hub Improvement Program Receives Critical Support

What does this mean for the future of High Speed Rail?

Chicago Mayor Lori E. Lightfoot spearheaded a letter sent to U.S. Secretary of Transportation Pete Buttigieg and Federal Railroad Administration administrator Amit Bose, endorsing Amtrak’s proposed Chicago Hub Improvement Program (CHIP). In total, 56 mayors signed on to the letter, highlighting the urgent and collective need for improvements to rail infrastructure in Chicago.

The Chicago Hub Improvement Program is a group of projects that will upgrade Chicago Union Station, create better routes in and out of Chicago, and open a variety of new service options. It’s a project with local, regional, and national significance because of the benefits it will bring to communities connected to the rail network throughout the Midwest and beyond.


“I am proud to join dozens of regional mayors in support of this transformative project for transportation in the Midwest. This investment in improved train services will give Chicago residents and visitors convenient, safe, and modernized travel options while reducing our carbon footprint. It will also lay the foundation for a more equitable transportation network, giving Illinois residents from all walks of life access to the amenities and opportunities found in our great city and region.”

– A Quote from Chicago Mayor Lori E. Lightfoot


“It’s no surprise that mayors from so many other cities support investment in better rail infrastructure in Chicago, because our city serves as the hub for most of North America. Our region has wonderful colleges, thriving towns and cities, innovative businesses, and great people. The missing link is a network of fast, safe, and affordable trains connecting them. CHIP would provide a first, foundational step toward implementing this vision.”

– Quote from Rick Harnish, executive director of the High Speed Rail Alliance


Sign the Petition


Mayors who signed the letter of support

Mayor Lori Lightfoot – City of Chicago, IL

Mayor Julie Moore Wolfe – City of Decatur, IL

Mayor Vickey Garcia Snyder – City of Albion, MI

Mayor David Goins – City of Alton, IL

Mayor Christopher Taylor – City of Ann Arbor, MI

Mayor Kathleen Newsham – City of Bay City, MI

Mayor Mark Behnke – City of Battle Creek, MI

Mayor Mboka Mwilambwe – City of Bloomington, IL

Village President Paul Schore, Village of Bourbonnais, IL

Mayor Jarom Wagoner – City of Caldwell, ID

Mayor Deborah Frank Feinen – City of Champaign, IL

Village President Charles Tokar – Village of Chicago Ridge, IL

Village President Michael Einhorn – Village of Crete, IL

Mayor John P. Kahl – City of East Peoria, IL

Mayor Mike Schutzbach – City of Effingham, IL

Mayor Jeffrey D. Walter – Village of Elburn, IL

Mayor Rod Roberson – City of Elkhart IN

Village President Angelo “Skip” Saviano – Village of Elmwood Park, IL

Mayor Barrett F. Pedersen – Village of Franklin Park, IL

Mayor Aaron Richardson – City of Fitchburg, WI

Village President Marc McLaughlin – Village of Fox River Grove, IL

Mayor Terry Renner – City of Galena, IL

Mayor Kevin Burns – City of Geneva, IL

Mayor Rosalynn Bliss – City of Grand Rapids, MI

Mayor Carolyn MCAdams – City of Greenwood, MS

Mayor Bruce Teague – City of Iowa City, IA

Mayor Tim Griffin – City of Kirkwood, MO

Mayor Donna Johnson – City of Libertyville, IL

Mayor Sharetta Smith – City of Lima, OH

Mayor Steven Streit – City of Lockport, IL

Mayor Michael Inman – City of Macomb, IL

Mayor Sayta Rhodes-Conway – City of Madison, WI

Mayor Rick Hall – City of Mattoon, IL

Mayor Nathanial George Booker – Village of Maywood, IL

Mayor Wayne Jett – City of McHenry, IL

Mayor Gurdip Brar – City of Middleton, WI

Mayor Jacob Frey – City of Minneapolis, MN

Mayor Mary O’Connor – City of Monona, WI

Mayor Steve Lentz – Village of Mundelein, IL

Mayor Tim Balderman – Village of New Lenox, IL

Mayor Nick Shelton – City of Niles, MI

Mayor Chris Koos – Town of Normal, IL

Mayor John Mahoney – The Village of Palos Park, IL

Mayor Rita Ali – City of Peoria, IL

Mayor Bill Alvey – City of Pontiac, IL

Mayor Michael A. Troup – City of Quincy, IL

Mayor Charles Smith – Village of Rantoul, IL

Mayor Kim Norton – City of Rochester, MN

Mayor Rick Reinbold – Village of Richton Park, IL

Mayor Shelby Rognstad – City of Sandpoint, ID

Village President Steve Ward – Village of South Elgin, IL

Mayor Thomas McNamara – City of Rockford, IL

Mayor Michael Padilla – City of Topeka, KS

Mayor Diane Wolfe Marlin – City of Urbana, IL

Mayor Luke Diaz – City of Verona, WI

Mayor Doug Hagedorn – City of Washington, MO

Mayor Mary Hensleigh – City of Whitehall, MT

The Latest from HSRA

Our Latest Blog Posts

Check out the latest news, updates, and high speed rail insights from our blog!

Illinois Rep. Buckner Letter to Metra and NICTD

Illinois Rep. Buckner Letter to Metra and NICTD

Illinois Assistant Majority Leader Kam Buckner has laid out a vision for using publicly-owned electrified railroad tracks in two states as the core asset for modern passenger rail expansion. But first, the two agencies that own and operate commuter trains need to...

The Central Valley: Where High Speed Rail Begins

The Central Valley: Where High Speed Rail Begins

The Central Valley: Where High Speed Rail Begins America’s first true high-speed line is under construction in California’s Central Valley.Backbone of a Statewide Network California is building a 220-mph high-speed line to link Los Angeles to San Francisco in under 3...

Bill Porter’s Trip to Italy

Bill Porter’s Trip to Italy

Guest Post by William Porter, HSR Alliance Board Member I joined the Association not only because I like to ride trains, but also because I believe high speed rail travel can contribute to the solution of a myriad of societal issues facing our Country. While I had...

New Challengers for Eurostar’s Cross Channel Service

New Challengers for Eurostar’s Cross Channel Service

A number of railway companies have announced their plans to operate high-speed trains between the UK and mainland Europe, via the Channel Tunnel. For nearly thirty years Eurostar has been the sole passenger rail operator using the tunnel, but it now seems likely they...